autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Sharing the knowledge as I learn it...

I'm fairly new to this level of detailing / paint correction so I figured I would share some of my lessons I learned along the way.

So last night I was finally motivated to finally test out some of my new stuff. I wanted to try to rotary again. Last time I was all over the place with it! I had a really hard time controlling it and was just a frustrating experience overall. So I came across these videos last night on the MOL forums:

Meguiar's Online - How to Introduction to Wetsanding and Rotary Buffing. (Video)

So after watching all 5 of these videos I was motivated and feeling confident on what I needed to do to get that rotary to work for me. I went all out! Here was my process. I only did the hood for time’s sake and really because that is the worst part of my car and need the most correction.

-Cleaned the surface with Meguiar’s Final Inspection QD (Car wasn’t that dirty. I washed it yesterday)
    -Clayed in spots that needed it with Mother’s Clay Kit
    -OC with wool pad on rotary at about 1800 rpm (lubed with QD every pass)
    -SSR1 with white pad on rotary at about 1300 rpm (lubed with QD every pass)
    -DG TPP #105 applied with a blue pad with the Ryobi DA (let cure for about 45 minutes and buffed with microfiber bonnet on the same blue pad)
    -DG FCS #921 this morning to clean off some sap that the trees decided to deposit on the surface
    -DG AW #951 after the #921

Here are my conclusions:

1) I’ll never use anything but a rotary for correction.