autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Paint: Hard or Soft?

Relative Newbie here. But, have been a avid reader/learner from the site and these forums. You guys are most helpful and generous with your advice and/or opinions. I have a basic question that I have not been able to find in all my searches on here. Sorry if it sounds so elementary but bugging me. I have an 02 Camry that needs the full treatment which I feel I am now knowledgeable enough to tackle and experiment with. However, one consideration I need to know is whether the paint is soft or hard. I know it could affect the approach to getting after it. How does one know in advance whether a paint is soft or hard? And, what does it mean to be single coat, etc. ? Please enlighten me. And, thanks in advance for being patient with a newbie.

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Paint: Hard or Soft?

Hopefully this helps you: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/...QVnowWFE#gid=0

I found it in the charts and graphs section, which is a sticky so it's always at the top. You may find that section under the detailers library, or here. Someone in that specific thread may be able to help you with the year/color you are looking for, as the chart is still not THAT detailed, but I'm assuming it is a generalization to how each manufacturers factory paints are.

As far as what the hardness of your paint will tell you, I'm still trying to figure that out on this forum, as I am a newbie, too, but I did find that.