autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    Kappy

Knowing What You Know Now...

What would you have done differently when starting out?

I'm brand new to this level of car care, and literally starting from scratch (no pun intended) equipment-wise. I've been reading and researching, almost to the point of obsession, and either the novelty will wear off, or I'm in big trouble.

At first I was interested in trying the 2 bucket method of car washing. I watched several videos; read all sorts of posts about this, and as I was compiling a list of things I would need - buckets, grid guards, possibly a foam gun, car shampoo, mitts, good quality towels, etc. - i came across the no rinse way of washing a car, and specifically the Garry Dean method. Other than needing a product like Optimum No Rinse, or Garry Dean's Ultimate, one bucket and lots of towels, this seems like something I'd like to try, especially living in Dallas where it can be 100 degrees for days, and isn't always much cooler in the morning.

My car needs some work, all of it caused by the dealer's prep, because I haven't washed it yet. While I don't want to add to the problems, I thought I could experiment on it while in this condition, before I attempt any type of scratch removal, buffing or polishing.