autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

Fading Paint? Oxidation? Polish or sealant to prevent?

I have a 2007 Nissan Titan pickup and when seeing many on the road I notice that the top of the hood gets a sort of clearcoat fade or the paint starts to fade. I'm pretty new to the detailing world but wanted to ask if there is any product or ingredient that would prevent this.

Example..

Are there UV blocking products, do all waxes already have them in there? Can someone explain what this is and how it happens? I just want to take steps if any to keep this from happening. I tried searching but the things I put in didn't bring anything up.

Thanks.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Fading Paint? Oxidation? Polish or sealant to prevent?

Quote Originally Posted by Antihero47 View Post
    I have a 2007 Nissan Titan pickup and when seeing many on the road I notice that the top of the hood gets a sort of clearcoat fade or the paint starts to fade. I'm pretty new to the detailing world but wanted to ask if there is any product or ingredient that would prevent this.

Example..

Are there UV blocking products, do all waxes already have them in there? Can someone explain what this is and how it happens? I just want to take steps if any to keep this from happening. I tried searching but the things I put in didn't bring anything up.

Thanks.
    Are you talking about the hood or the roof? Looks like clear coat failure on the roof if that what I'm seeing. Only thing would be a repaint to fix it. If its a 07 I would check to see if the warranty still covers that.
    Official Detailing Team Member of Air Force One