autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Newbie -- 98 Sienna - First Detail - need advice

I'm a rookie who's never done any detailing. I have a white 1998 Toyota Sienna with some scratches, oxidation that I would like to improve it's looks. It's a daily driver not a show car. There's so much info not sure where to start. I want products that good value, easy to use ,and forgiving. I will learn on the van move to my other vehicles. Don't want an expensive investment.

Thinking about doing the following and need help with the gaps:
    purchase a DA and use 5.5 pads
    wash
    Clay
    Meg's UC -- which color foam pads?
    Some polish -- ?? which color foam pads?
    Wax -- Meg's NXT

What else?

Thanks for the help.

Post Thanks / Like
    Megs NXT is a sealant, keep in mind they call it a wax, but your on the right track as far as using sealants with light colors.

Not from personal experience, but many here have had good luck with LC HydroTech pads, you might want to look into those.

Maybe someone who uses LC HT pads can chime in and give you the recomendations on which color goes with what product.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Newbie -- 98 Sienna - First Detail - need advice

http://autogeek.commerce-search.net/...d-pad-kit.html

I like these pads. They are durable and get the job done for not alot of $$$.

Ultimate Compound= yellow,orange or white
    Ultimate Polish= white or black

These are the Hydrotech pads that the above poster mentioned.
    Lake Country Hydro-Tech 5 1/2 x 7/8 Inch Foam Pads 3 Pack - Your Choice!

Ultimate Compound= Cyan
    Ultimate Polish= Tangerine