autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Rotary Buffer Question

I'm just getting started with this new hobby and I happen to already own a Craftsman 9 in rotary buffer. I do not know the specifics off hand such as speeds etc. I have some terry cloth bonnets and a lambs wool bonnet. Just reading some of the other threads I'm positive this buffer is far inferior to what most experienced guys are using. My question is will I do any harm to my truck using this until I can get a higher quality tool? My truck is silver and it's 10 years old so the paint is pretty beat up. My initial plan is to start claying, compound, polish, and wax.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Rotary Buffer Question

You have to be extremely careful with a rotary. You can burn through the paint pretty easy. You might want to get a practice panel to work on first.

Post Thanks / Like

Instead of searching all over, Mike Phillips has written some great articles on rotary machines so I've simply copied them here..........

Rotary Buffers
    Rotary Buffers are the most powerful type of tool used to work on paint. These tools use a direct drive gear mechanism to rotate a pad under pressure in a single direction. This type of tool works fastest for removing sanding marks after wetsanding, serious paint defects and oxidation off both cars and boats. These types of tools will tend to leave holograms behind that are best removed using dual action type polishers for a swirl-free finish even after multiple washings.

New - How to buff off an edge when using a rotary buffer

New - How to use a Rotary Buffer

New - Hologram Free with a Rotary Buffer