autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 33 of 37 FirstFirst ... 232425262728293031323334353637 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Flex 3401 or rupes bigfoot.

Quote Originally Posted by StuDLei View Post
    Hey at least you're honest!!

The 3401 is the only polisher I've ever used but I have a hard time understanding people that claim the Rupes corrects better. I mean the Flex is forced rotation. You can stand on the damn thing. IDK…. most people mention the MF pads which I have no experience with either. Why are they better? And why can't you just use them with a Flex?

MF pads sound like they don't last and sound like a pain to clean between sections.
    Hi,

Gotta agree to disagree with you! By the way, I have some use on MF pads and at least the Meguiar's discs (both) and the Lake Country DA MF pads are great.

I do use them a bit differently (that may be subject to another topic), mainly brushing the pad frequently and adding more product to the pad with the brush, like re-priming the pad.

I only add product to 'semi-dry' sections of the pad, but brushes it entirely.

The trick part of MF pads is to maintain them neither wet or dry, every extreme will make it behave less than optimum and hard to clean between sections. That's why brushing with product helps a lot.

AREA for correction should be small (generally).

Polisher SPEED is also important, as MF pads 'likes' lower speeds, it means speed 4 on Meg's DA and maybe 3 on the Flex.

Lower speeds doesn't means barely rotating. As MF discs are THIN, DA polishers have plenty of power to spin them considerably fast, specially the 5" version. I would go with 6" for the Flex, but also will try the 5".