autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Clay

Post Thanks / Like

Clay

I've been using Griot's Garage clay for several years. I just watched Mike remove paint overspray from a brand new Honda using DP. Not sure if Griot's would have removed that. Is there a big difference in quality clays? I've had good success with Griot's on normal fallout but when it came to heavy tar and such, I usually switch to a degreaser.

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Clay

Quote Originally Posted by Don Porter View Post
    I've been using Griot's Garage clay for several years. I just watched Mike remove paint overspray from a brand new Honda using DP. Not sure if Griot's would have removed that. Is there a big difference in quality clays? I've had good success with Griot's on normal fallout but when it came to heavy tar and such, I usually switch to a degreaser.
    My wife sprayed polyurethane on some piece of furniture in the garage and the overspray settled all over her Explorer. When I found it the paint felt like sandpaper. I was able to successfully remove it with Mothers clay. So I would think it would depend on what kind of overspray you have and how dry the overspray was when it settled on your car.
    I have removed Highway Stripping paint before with lacqure thinner on a newer car with a clear top coat with no apparant damage but test first in a hidden area to see what effect it will have.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Clay

Clay bars and qualities vary greatly from Fine-Aggressive.
    To show you the varrieties, take a look at the Chemical Guys Clay