autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Porter 7424XP or Foam cannon--OPINIONS!

I'm looking for something i'd like for my 4 year anniversary. I was originally looking at getting a foam cannon. Then I thought about getting a Porter cable 7424XP polisher. I know it's like comparing apples to oranges, but I really don't know which i'd like to get. I could use the Foam cannon every time I wash my car, but I would be able to apply AIO, glazes, waxes, etc. with the polisher more efficiently but it would only be used every few months probably. I've never used a polisher before, so i'd have a bit of a learning curve.

Which do you guys like more, and which would you recommend? I have a big feeling it will be the polisher since it has a wide variety of uses, but I figured i'd ask anyways.

Also, does the foam cannon really even help with bug guts that are stuck on the front? Mine seem to be etched into the paint although it's washed weekly and many times 2 to 3 times during the week.

Thanks.
    2012 black Mustang-Magnaflow axle-backs, Barton Short throw shifter and bracket, Airaid Cold Air Intake, American Muscle Tuner, Saleen bumper/grill combo, and HID's.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Porter 7424XP or Foam cannon--OPINIONS!

About the bug etching, like bird poop, you need to get that stuff off as soon as possible to minimize the chance of etching. You have the calculus right, foam cannon used weekly, polisher used 2-3-4 times a year. The foamer helps you with your wash process to minimize marring (although other ways to skin that cat), while the polisher is going to allow you to correct the marring you (probably) already have.