autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

Repainted vs factory

I started correcting my sons paint on his 2008 Dodge Avenger. When we bought it used we knew it was in an accident but now that I'm doing a correction I can really tell where the new

paint is and where the original is. THE ORIGINAL IS CORRECTING SO NICE! The new (3 yrs old) is correcting with no swirls or scratches but doesn't look smooth. I plan on polishing in the

morning and I'm thinking it is what it is. I am an amateur with limited supplies, da PC some polishes and swirl removers. I have the wg twins and some wax. I clayed first and pulled a ton

of junk off. Another question...should I just pitch the clay? It seems so contaminated. It was new when I started. Hers a pic after the first panel.

Heres a pic after the first step of correction. It looks good but my phone photography stinks

Please let me know what your thoughts are. Thanks
    2012 Dodge Challenger RT Classic Bright Silver
    2018 Ford F150 Xlt Sport 4X4 Magnetic Grey

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Repainted vs factory

I would do what you can with what you have at the moment. I'm sure with the WG Twins it will make a difference.

With the clay, pull it apart and re mold it until there is a fresh side.
    Ryan 2006 Volvo S60 R

Post Thanks / Like

Clay is not cheap, next time keep a small container with soap and a toothbrush to clean the crud off before folding in a new section. Looks like your getting some nice gloss on that paint.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Rsurfer View Post