autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Not new to detailing, but need help with Orbital buffers and high end products.

I am 19 and I have been a car enthusiast for quite some time now. I have always taken care of my car and wash and wax them. Well my baby, my 2008 Grabber Orange Mustang, has swirl marks. I am looking into getting myself a Porter Cable 7424 to remove them. I need help though. I was thinking about ordering the one that comes with 5 pads. Remember I am new to this. I need help choosing pads and products. Here are some bullets.

What 5 pads should I get? (They will be used for removing swirl marks, polishing, and waxing)

What products should I use? I currently use Meguiars?(What I can find locally) I don't mind spending money, but I dont want to spend $50 on a wax...

Also in order to do a full body detail what do I need? I have always washed with Dawn to strip the wax, wash again with car wash, claybar the car, cleaner wax, and then gold class or NXT gen.

Thanks! Im sure I will have many more ?'s

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Not new to detailing, but need help with Orbital buffers and high end products.

You want to make sure the pads are 5.5" if you get the PC. I think some of the kits come with 6.5" pads.

Maybe two orange, and either two white or two black, and one whatever color is for waxing (blue/red?). Depends on what products you will use.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Not new to detailing, but need help with Orbital buffers and high end products.

I would suggest that you get the Griots DA polisher instead of the Porter Cable. There are many reasons for this but the main 3 are