autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

First time w/ Menzerna - Lots of Dust

Hey guys, I'm a hobbyist, this weekend I started doing minor swirl removal and correction on my black 08 Mercedes.

I've got a Porter Cable DA with Edge pads. This was my first time using Menzerna products and I experienced a LOT of dust.

My process was fairly simple (and definitely open to critique, even if it has nothing to do w/ the dusting)

- Clay Bar
    - Menzerna Super Intensive polish with a Green pad
    - Menzerna Micro Polish (85RD i think??) with a Blue pad
    - Meguiars #20 with a white pad
    - Poor Boys Blue Liquid Wax

I usually do a compound coat of the poly seal (apply one coat, cure it 30 mins, apply a 2nd without wiping the first, then buff off both after curing).

I also used a Yellow pad with the SIP for a few specific problem areas.

I'm very happy with the results, I've got about half the car done this weekend. Two adjacent panels tell the story completely -- the car looks nearly 2 different colors, mostly due to hazing than swirls as I'm a fairly careful car washer.

But god DANG I had dust issues -- especially with the Super Intensive Polish.

Is this the nature of the product or did I over-work it? I certainly tried to keep my eye out for flashing to know when to stop but to be honest it's a little hard for an untrained eye. The coat of polish is so thin that going from opaque to clear isn't terribly noticeable. So it's possible I did over-work it.