autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Wash mitts marring the finish??

I have a question for the experts here. I have been using Gold Class Car Wash for many years with no issues. I have also used a variety of wash mitts. My favorite is the Viking 2 in 1 wool with the mesh backing (there are 2 types out there- one is great and the other is not good at all). Anyhow, I recently have used the white Meguiars Supreme Shine MF mitt as well. I never had any issues. I saw an auction on ebay for some of the older wool style Meguiars wash mitts and I bought a couple of them. (They are legit and aren't knock offs or anything). Well after using that one, I can see a ton of micromarring on my paint in the direction of the motion of how I wash. (It isn't very noticable- but it is there). I'm pretty sure its this mitt.

I tried the blank dvd trick on all my mitts (all were dry) and every single one scratched the living (you know what) out of every dvd I tested on.

My MF towels don't leave any marks on the discs.

What gives?? I use plenty of car wash, I foam the bucket very well, (single bucket with grit guard) and I just use the wieght of the mitt. I use a big Water Sprite to dry (but I have been using them for over a decade so I know it isn't an issue)

Would it be safer to just use a good MF towel instead of a mitt?? What do you guys use to preserve your finish??

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Wash mitts marring the finish??

Grout sponge at your local home warehouse center. Another option would be the Lake Country blue sponge that autogeek sells. These are popular and a safe bet. I have been using both with no ill effects.