autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

Question Mothers "All Wheel" Cleaner, is it Safe?

Hey everyone, other than my introductory post, this is my first with a specific question in mind... I did a search on here but couldn't find a real definitive answer, and as I'm new to detailing, I figured I'd ask the question before messing up my wheels on my new car....

I purchase some of the Mothers "All Wheel & Tire Cleaner" (Mothers Wheel Mist All Wheel Cleaner cleans & maintains coated, painted, polished and anodized wheels without pitting the coating or corroding the) and the bottle of course says safe for all "OEM Wheels", but I've seen reviews online saying that this cleaner "ruins your clearcoat" on the wheels. Now, I try to take online reviews with some skepticism because there were a lot of positive reviews but I just wanted to know if anybody had used this wheel cleaner and if there is anything I should be concerned about, the bottle does say "Non-Acetic", but on Mothers site they have this warning:

WARNING: FOR USE ON FACTORY/OEM COATED WHEELS AND HUBCAPS ONLY. AVOID POLISHED OR ROUGHCAST ALUMINUM, BILLET OR ANODIZED WHEELS. DO NOT USE ON MOTORCYCLE WHEELS, CASINGS OR COMPONENTS.

Which I thought seemed strange to have a warning like this on something billed as an "All Wheel" cleaner. I have a 2010 Subaru Forester with factory alloy wheels, I assume they are clear coated because they have a gloss to them.

Just wanted to get some expert opinion before I put this stuff on my new wheels..

Thanks!

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Mothers "All Wheel" Cleaner, is it Safe?