autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Just can't seem to remove the swirls...

Ok, I've now done 3 cars (I'm a noob for sure) including my '05 white Dodge Ram. I've also done a '03 silver Cadillac Deville and a '98 black Honda Prelude. None of them was I able to COMPLETELY remove the swirls and scratches from. I was able to GREATLY improve their appearance and I was the only one to still be able to see the issues left behind, but still. My truck turned out the best, but I spent more time on it. A LOT more time. It often took many, many, many section passes with extreme pressure with orange and UC (more on the process below). I never could actually stop the Griots with extreme pressure! Still, though..the swirls are still there. They are much smaller and finer in detail, but there nonetheless.

The Caddy turned out ok. Since it was silver it doesn't show up, get in the light and I can see the left over swirls and scratches. The Prelude looks 10 times better, but still swirls...it's the worse of the 3. I JUST got some 5.5" pads and did the Caddy with those. I used 6.5 on my truck and the Prelude. Honestly..I couldn't tell much difference between them other than the 5.5" fit better in some areas.

I'll tell you a quick bit about my process and see if you guys have any recommendations.

1. Wash with Meg Gold Class shampoo
    2. Dry with Absorber and microfibers* following Absorber
    3. Clay with Meg Smooth Clay
    4. LC flat orange pad on Griot's polisher (setting 6) with Meg Ultimate Compound
    5. LC flat white pad with Meg SwirlX (setting 5)
    6. LC flat gray/black pad with Meg Gold Class 'nuba wax