autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Rinseless washing newbie questions

So......winter is here.....and we are expecting stupid low temperatures within the next few days. I've never done a rinseless wash, but am thinking this is a technique I should become familiar and comfortable with. I've watched a bunch of YT videos on the process, and I have some questions. First....water temperature. Should it be hot, warm or cold......or does it not matter? If available, should I be using distilled water? I will likely oversaturate the panels because I'm worried about marring.....but, like I said...I am a newb at this

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Rinseless washing newbie questions

I use warm/distilled but don't think it matters much. I use a Marolex sprayer and really wet the surface well. Throw a bunch of mf towels in the solution or use a sponge etc.

Post Thanks / Like

Water temp = doesn’t matter (above freezing to as warm as you can stand). I usually make it a little warmer if it’s cold out.
    Distilled water = I’ve never seen the need and ONR always said it would soften/neutralize it. If you plan on keeping the solution a long time I might consider it but I usually use up the solution within a week or two.

Don’t worry so much about marring. Making the solution with too much chemical will just make your job harder and I know some people always prespray with solution but I don’t find it needed except for really bad dirt.

Been doing this since about 2009 and my cars look fantastic (if I do say so myself). I’ve got to the point where I hate when I bring out the hose the once or twice a year I do.

4. Thanks CleanIT thanked for this post
    Likes CleanIT liked this post