autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Very new to detailing

Hello,

Im pretty new to wax etc of my vehicle.

As long as i ve had the car (2 and half years)
    Ive never waxed only washed it
    over this past weekend i decided to give it a go
    I started off by washing my car really good
    Then clayed it completely except the windows
    After that i used meguires #7 glaze and then #26
    after wards i was very suprised at how smooth to the touch it was i assume from the claying but the shine or "reflection" wasnt what i thought it could have been.
    On the glaze are you supposed to let it set up or stay on for a certain amount of time? or buff it off right away. Same with the wax
    Im not sure
    One thing i did notice is how the water beads off my hood after going through a sprinkler on accident.
    Thanks guys
    btw my car is silver

Post Thanks / Like
    Do you have swirls in the paint? That could be a reason for it not shining as much as you expect. Swirls detract the light and don't give good clear reflections. Another thing you might want to try is a paint sealant. They give off very nice reflections and shine.

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like
    No no swirls that i can see
    any idea bout my glaze wax question?

Post Thanks / Like
    I will have killerwheels help you out with your glaze question, he should be online in a couple of hours. Glaze is one product I don't use, so I am of no help! I will PM him this thread.

Post Thanks / Like
    Meguiar's recommend let it dry to a haze, then buff it off. Same goes for glaze and wax(liquid or paste).