autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Mike Phillips

Re: Polish and Pad Recommendations for a New Car

Quote Originally Posted by GotBPS View Post

I just bought a brand new black Honda Civic Si

I have everything I need added to my cart, but I'm still not sure which polish to go for. I know the only way to really tell is with a test spot before doing the whole car, but I don't have the budget to buy different kinds to polishes to test this out. What would be the "safest" polish to buy that would most likely deliver the results I am looking for. Currently the car has minor to no swirl marks and some water spots. Once again I really appreciate everyone's help as I am new to ceramic coating.

While I hate to generalize and in fact have an article on this topic, my experience as is the experience of hundreds and likely thousands of other detailers is that the factory paint on Honda's tends to be very soft.

If the swirls and scratches are shallow or light - then I think you could do the job with a high quality fine cut polish like the Wolfgang Finishing Glaze. Test it with a foam "finishing" pad first. If you need more cut, use it with a foam "polishing" pad.

For back-up - the Wolfgang Total Swirl Remover. Both of these are really nice products.

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Thanks for the help. I will make sure and post pictures of the car when I am finished. Probably in a couple weeks depending on how long everything takes to get here.

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like