autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Removing old ceramic coating for new coating?

How hard is it to remove an existing coating so that you could put a new one down? Do you have to compound and polish or can you get away with a polish that finishes down good?

I am new to machines (gg6) and coatings. I've always done everything by hand but just don't have the time anymore let alone to do it 2-3x a year. I want it to look the best it can! In the past I've said I would do a complete decon/clay/polish/lsp 3 times a year...then it was 2! Well, I'm being real with myself and it will probably only be once a year with everything I have going!

With that said, I was looking at PNS/BSD combo but I'm just not sure it will handle Chicago winters? I also don't like how tacky I hear it is.

So now (thanks to Guz!) I'm looking at CanCoat/Cure (or Uber ceramic spray when more reviews/testing comes out) but I'm concerned about having the skills to machine the old coating off at the end of it's life. By this, I mean the small areas that I can't get to with the GG6 or curved areas. Or even the really small areas of the grill that are hard to get to by hand.

Am I over thinking this? I've just never been comfortable with coatings but I think it is really what I need in the end. I'm good at doing a really good wash every 2-3 weeks and I always like to use some sort of spray afterwards...wax/sio2/QD. If it wasn't for winter, I think I would be fine withan AIO once a year and a spray to maintain after every wash. I still do like to do a really good job at least once a year that is why I'm looking at a coating lite.

Thanks

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Removing old ceramic coating for new coating?