autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Alcoa aluminum wheel polishing?

Hello Everyone,

I have 22.5" Alcoas on my truck. They were great looking wheels until I spent a winter driving roads where they used heavy salt/chemicals on the road in the winter.

Now they are VERY dull and pitted.

I went to the local auto parts store and they sold me a foam ball on a shaft, wheel cleaner and Mothers Aluminum Polish. I followed the instructions on the products. I used my Makita cordless drill and spent almost two hours and a full tub of Mothers on one wheel. It looked somewhat better when I got done but nowhere near as nice as I expected.

I am brand new at this and learning. Please have patience....

I suspect that I need to start with something more aggressive. A faster drill? More dense polishing wheel? Coarser polish?

I really don't know. What do you all suggest? Perhaps there is an "Aluminum polishing for Idiot's" that I have overlooked?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

S.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Alcoa aluminum wheel polishing?

I'm no expert and i'm sure others will chime in but perhaps it's the finish on the wheels... clear coated... and they might need to be sanded a good bit then polished to really 'fix' them and bring that shine back. perhaps the polish itself isn't, as you said, 'aggressive enough' without sanding before the polish.

3. Likes LEDetailing liked this post
    Mike Phillips

If the are pitted you may have to wetsand first. If you wetsand you’ll need to go more aggressive in the buffing steps.

I think Flitz usecto make a type of scotchbrite pad with abrasives in it available in different grits.

Mike Phillips