autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Water spot help!

Hi everyone,

Newbie here and am thankful for all the info posted on this site. I have terrible water spots on my vehicle doors that keep coming back despite using several water spot removers and compounding. Ironically the horizontal surfaces are fine. The water spots are faint and can only be seen in the sun or under my LED garage lights and don’t have the typical white color, they are basically clear. I have read about the 3 types of water spots from other posts but I don’t understand why compounding removes them but then they come back about a week later. I’m thinking about trying the Valugard ABC method but I’m just looking for anything that can permanently get rid of them. The odd thing is I wash with distilled water and ONR and it is winter so there are no sprinklers. I’m not sure if the road salt caused them or how they got there.

thanks for your help.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Water spot help!

I think ABC definitely might be worth a shot. If not, got to keep on trying different water spot removers. I don’t think they are all created the same. I’d hate to suggest wet sanding for something so slight. My dad had it done on his ‘vette and eventually it led to the start of clear coat failure so best to go with the least aggressive method first.
    Treat it like it's the only one in the world.

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Thanks Bill, appreciate the quick response. Any idea why they go away and come back? Also, any recommendation on a water spot remover that you think works. I’ll try them all if I have to :-).

Post Thanks / Like