autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

A few random detailing questions. Products, techniques, etc

So I have a few detailing questions on a few different topics and didn't want to start a new topic for each question. I've gotten more into detailing the last few years so I'm still learning but enjoying it all.

1. Do you polish ever time you detail or do you just hit any new scuffs, etc as they show up? My truck is 2008 so there are some slight imperfections but overall the paint is in great shape. If I don't have swirls, should I polish ever time I detail? I get a few surface scuffs from hunting that can buff out individually. Lately I've just been clay baring, buffing any scuffs and then applying sealant/wax for protection. I will also be detailing my sister's 2018 Armada whose paint looks pretty good. I'll probably polish that since it's never been done.

2. What applicator would you recommend for applying Wolfgang Sealant? In all the videos it mentions a yellow pad but gives no specifics. Looking online I've seen the CSS Euro Yellow jewelling pad, the Wolfgang Polish N' Wax applicator and the EZ-Grip hydrotech crimson pad. All of these say that they can be used to apply waxes, sealants, etc. Or something like the Polishing Pal?

3. How much pressure when applying sealant? Same type of pressure as applying a wax? Everything I've watched suggests using the straightline method vs circles.

4. What is a good clay bar kit? I've always used the Meguiar clay kit since I can get it locally for a good price. It works well but wanted to see if there was something better out there.

I think that's it for now but looking for to the answers and insight.