autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

D101 stripping door panels

I’ve been using d101 for almost 2 years now and almost to the end of a gallon jug. I mix about 4-6oz in 32oz spray bottle. I’ve never had an issue with it. I did my truck the other day a 16 Silverado and I spray on towel and wipe doors it was taking the black off the doors. Thought whatever it’s my truck and mixed a new bottle. I do a Camry this morning and my towel turns blue from the door panel.

Anyone had this happen wirh d101? Bad batch? Nothing has changed and idk

Post Thanks / Like

Re: D101 stripping door panels

Quote Originally Posted by RiverCityAutoSpa View Post
    I’ve been using d101 for almost 2 years now and almost to the end of a gallon jug. I mix about 4-6oz in 32oz spray bottle. I’ve never had an issue with it. I did my truck the other day a 16 Silverado and I spray on towel and wipe doors it was taking the black off the doors. Thought whatever it’s my truck and mixed a new bottle. I do a Camry this morning and my towel turns blue from the door panel.

Anyone had this happen wirh d101? Bad batch? Nothing has changed and idk
    A few questions to start. What materials are the door panels that your wiping. Do you use tap water or distilled? Are you adding less water than normal?

Post Thanks / Like

the only time I have had that kind of a problem is if someone painted the door panels but being a 2016 and your truck I doubt it,,unless you bought it used and this is your first cleaning of it.
    I do at least 15 Silverados a month and have never had this issue except for the above mentioned.
    “I have trouble with names and faces, but I never forget a car.”