autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

REALLY basic question - how much fluid in your wash bucket?

I'm posing this because I'm a detail oriented engineer and I'd like to get things down to a repeatable process...

I use a two-bucket method - I've got two 5 Gal buckets, both with grit guards, and I fill up the rinse bucket with probably 4 gallons of water. Then I mix up the wash bucket, and this is where it gets unclear. Ratio of wash to water is 1 Oz per Gal. But, am I trying to take a gallon of water and make a bucket of suds? Take two gallons of water and make some soapy water with suds on top? Three? Keep in mind that the top of the grit guard is probably at the 1/2 gallon fluid level.

Reason for all this overthinking is to figure out how much soap I need per wash and then I can figure out how often I need to order a new batch of wash shampoo.

Best wishes,
    Tim

Post Thanks / Like

Re: REALLY basic question - how much fluid in your wash bucket?

I usually wing with about 4 oz to a 5 gallon filled almost to the top with water,if it doesn't stay sudsy enough add more soap.

You can a pretty close measurement with a 6 oz Styrofoam coffee cup
    “I have trouble with names and faces, but I never forget a car.”

Mike Phillips

Me?

4 gallons in a 5 gallon bucket

4. Likes Farmallluvr liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Read the manufacturers direction. All soaps are not created equal. Example, Car Pro's Reset is 1 oz. per 4 gallons of water.

Post Thanks / Like