autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Where to start?

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Where to start?

I'm a detailing noob....

My 98 Lexus GS400 has 303k miles and hasn't had any serious detailing since I have had it the last 165k miles and 7 years. It used to have a much prettier paint hue than it does now. The cars we have sit rarely get a break from the sun and elements. And see most any temp range in the US, as low as -20F to +100F.

I want to learn how to work on the paint. As I start looking close on my wife's 04 RX330 I see the fine scratches all over. I never realized how many there are. My car is likely the same.

Where do I start? Compound? Or Claybar then compound, polish and wax?

For now going to start by hand, but a polisher is something I want to get.

On my old 80 Turbo Trans Am I polished it too much and thinned the paint down. But that was a 1980 Acrylic (Acrylic was a new thing in 1980) paint with no clear coat (they didn't exist from GM back then).

For products I have on hand, Meg's Ultimate Wax, Meg's spray detail wax (old, I have had it for eons, may not be any good) and a handful of microfiber towels (cheap ones) that are new in package.

Thanks! Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Where to start?

Are you going to do this by hand, or machine? If machine a DA or Rotary?
    I would start with a wash, then clay.
    I use a DA so I would then use a bunch of test spots. Compound with a pad or two, and polish with a pad or two. See what gives you acceptable results.

If by hand you have your work cut out. It may be beneficial to buy a da kit.
    Or
    Pay a detailer once then maintain it.