autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Basic recommendations for detailing black trailer

I'm new to all this, so please bear with me. I've watched some of the videos and read a couple of the articles on this site. In this thread I'm seeking recommendations for products to use.

I've had this trailer for 3 years; I bought it brand new, and I hope to restore the exterior finish on it to get it looking as new as possible again:

Basic recommendations for detailing black trailer-image-jpg Basic recommendations for detailing black trailer-image-jpg

Ideally, I would like to get it looking like the one in this photo, which appeared on this forum about 4 years ago:

My questions are:

1. Is this possible to achieve without repainting the whole thing?
    2. I don't have a machine. Can this be done without one?
    3. Which products should I buy to do this? Please include brand names.
    4. In which order should I use the products?
    5. You can see that there are small areas that will need repainting, such as the top corner in the first photo. What paint should I buy, and what method should I use to apply it?
    6. There are some tape remnants that I was able to get rid of mostly using Goo Gone, but there are still some vestiges of tape. How can I remove them completely?

I apologize if these questions have been answered many times before on this forum. I have been reading through some of the older threads. Thank you in advance for any guidance on this.

Mike Phillips

Re: Basic recommendations for detailing black trailer

Hi Bob,

It will take forever and wear you out to try to do this by hand.