autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

4 week old New Car

I did not do the new car detail. The new vehicle is a metallic black Range Rover Sport and I've driven it for about 400 miles/3 weeks since picking it up from the dealer. I am a complete newbie in regards to detailing. But after hanging around these forums this past few days, I bought a bunch of stuff to get me started. GG6 DA, pads from Lake country. Griot's 5.5 inch vented back plate.

Do you guys still recommend: Wash/Dry, Iron X, Wash/Dry, Possible clay and possible polish? Then wax?

I am a complete newbie and never used a DA before. For Waxing, I can use either Meguiar's Ultimate Liquid wax or M21. Which do you guys recommend for a newbie such as me?

Those black plastic trims are scratch magnets. Do you guys recommend CarPro DLux Plastic coating after polishing that area?Much appreciated

Post Thanks / Like

Re: 4 week old New Car

If you've never done it, now is the perfect time to get a baseline established.

For that reason, I'd go all out on decon. Wash it, dry it, Iron X, wash again, definitely clay it, possibly another wash even. Then I would decide from there where the process goes. That being a pretty valuable/high end car I'd want to start looking into correcting some of the swirls that are no doubt in the paint from the dealer. A light polish is the way to go here, or even an all in one polish such as McKees 360 or HD Speed. These will leave behind a durable sealant that should last a long time for you.