autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Critique my technique

Hi all. Newbie here. Been reading a ton of info on the site.

Background - I have a work SUV that has been neglected. Not washed very frequently in the past 3 years. Lives a tough life: used 24/7 - driving in hard pack/dirt roads 50-75% of the time, ton of annual miles. (Side note - I always chuckle when I watch the videos and they say "this car is filthy". Picture commercial grime that you can write WASH ME into, that's what my truck looks like). The truck is lucky if it stays clean 8 hours.... yes hours. Also heavily populated bird population so poop a problem. Especially since it gets burned in from the heat. Color is a metallic grey. I don't have a garage but access to hose generally available. Not really looking for show car level just advice on how to get most protection in the form of being able to rinse most of the filth away easily. I try to do a plain water rinse every couple of days to knock the heavy grime off.

I bought the autogeek foam gun here. Put it on the 1:10 setting. In the quart container I put 3+ ounces soap and 32 ounces water making around a 1:11 dilution. My soap calls for 1 ounce to 128 ounce. Fire it up and it suds like crazy and I'm giggling like a school girl. Beautiful right? literally 45 secs later the entire quart is used up! Am I doing something wrong? I literally didn't finish the entire truck!!! 16 year old boys last longer!!! What gives?