autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

Water Spots in Clear Coat of 2003 Subaru WRX -- method to try and remove?

Hey guys, I'm a novice detailer but have been fortunate enough to attend some of Mike Phillip's Thursday night detailing classes at Autogeek so I've learned the basics.
    I have a 2003 Subaru WRX and the hood, roof, and trunk have water spots that are actually in the clear coat. Years ago I had a detailer try to get them out without luck, but I had a chance to show it to Mike (a few years back at least) and he said he thought I could still successfully correct the paint. I don't remember what he had recommended (I seem to remember wet sanding but I'm not 100%) so hopefully Mike sees this post, and hopefully some others can chime in with input as well.

I tried my 7424XP with an orange pad and Meguiars M105 tonight and it did not make a substantial difference. This is the most aggressive combo I own currently. Any suggestions on a different approach? Hopefully it is possible to get this out without going all the way through the clear coat.

I have a video uploading to try and show the spots on the hood -- I'll post that here as soon as its online.

Thanks!
    Bryan

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Water Spots in Clear Coat of 2003 Subaru WRX -- method to try and remove?

Check OPTIMUM POLYMER TECHNOLOGY...MINERAL DEPOSIT REMOVER.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Post Thanks / Like

A chemical cleaner will not do much if the spots have etched the paint.

Here's a good thread on water spots.

https://www.autogeekonline.net/forum...-type-iii.html

02' WRX owner here too, since new. Still love it!

Mine has been repainted though.