autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Arrow Water softener vs CR Spotless confusion

First post here, been lurking this site for over a decade but now finally have a legitimate question.

First, allow me to explain my experience with washing my vehicles over the years, Ill admit Im a noob.

Ive owned 2 cars in the last 11 years, both black.

Some years ago I tried the Mr Clean Auto Dry system and was pleasantly surprised how well it worked and left no spots. After that I got lazy and never tried to use it again until it was discontinued

Then I moved to NE Florida. The water from my house was terrible, even though it came with a water softener already installed. I couldn't get the Mr Clean thing anymore, so I searched around and found Auto Geeks Clear inline hose filter. I figured maybe my hose outlet didnt run through the home water softener. I got the single filter and used the softener cartridge. Still had bad water spots. I was kind of upset for wasting about $100 on this filter and it didnt remove spots like it clearly stated in the description. (This was about 8 years ago, no hard feelings)

Fast forward to now. My CR Spotless DIC-20 arrived today and I gave it a try. Guess what...NO SPOTS. I was happy it worked, but Im confused as to WHY the CR Spotless worked when its essentially a smaller version of my house water softener?

Whats really going on here?!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Water softener vs CR Spotless confusion