autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Barn Find

Post Thanks / Like

Barn Find

I got lucky and was able to purchase a 1992 Corvette coupe LT1 in good condition. It belonged to a lady that had passed and the elderly husband decided to sell. It is a survivor and totally stock and original. I can restore the mechanicals but have questions on this original metallic red paint. I believe it is a base coat clear coat. The front and rear bumpers have the typical fading. Is there anything short of a repaint that can improve the appearance of the bumpers? I have no experience polishing what appears to be a type of urethane? Also polishing and waxing the compound fiberglass panels would be the same steps as metal panels? The paint condition isn't to bad with minor crazing and miniscule white specs I have no idea what they are. I was thinking of doing a test spot by washing, clay, polish lightly with Megs Ultimate polish or use Megs #7 glaze instead, and top with Megs Ultimate liquid wax. Sound good? Maybe I'm over thinking this but I have zero zilch experience with painted fiberglass panels. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Barn Find

Any advice on 25 year old original paint on this vette ( base/clear ) to safely polish? Thank you!

Post Thanks / Like

Many others could probably ask a zillion questions.

Some pictures might help if possible. The better you can take them to show different areas, and what you have might go a long way to helping you.

Was this indeed a barn find, where the car sat somewhat protected from the elements, or was it stored outdoors?