autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

backing plates kept breaking down

just went through the 2nd backing plate (DA) this year. the foam facing fell off from the metal back. luckily the damage was minimal. this one (and the other one that broke down earlier this year and another two broken down last year) belongs to a pretty popular brand (also carried by autogeek) which I will keep anonymous here. but seems like these backing plate has some innate design flaws that during working they cannot withstand the heat and the foam part separates apart from the metal part.

I am not a professional detailer and only polish cars occasionally. the DA is a GG polisher which is not regarded as the most powerful one I believe. taken all together, I would have to say the frequency of these backing plate to break down is quite high and disappointing.

would like to switch to a different brand so I do have to worry about flying backing plates/pads. any one can recommend me a brand that has really reliable/durable backing plate?
    backing plates kept breaking down-20170319_192936-jpg

Post Thanks / Like

Re: backing plates kept breaking down

CAN'T HELP RE THE ALTERNATE BRAND SORRY , BUT THE FREQENCY OF FAILURE YOU ARE HAVING IS EITHER BAD LUCK, OR YOUR METHOD IS CAUSING EXCESSIVE HEAT E.G. OVERLY HIGH LOAD AND HIGH SPEED, WITH TOO LONG A WORK TIME / WORK SIZE...

DO YOU HAVE PADS COLLAPSING TOO? IF YES THEN A PROCESS CHANGE MAY SAVE YOU HEADACHES.. IF NOT THEN YOU SEEM TO HAVE VERY BAD LUCK..

(sorry just noticed caps was on.. ah well.. )

Post Thanks / Like