autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

New at detailing & first time using a polisher (PorterCable 7424XP)...Need some help w/ pads & Polish

Hello detailers,

I'm new to the detailing world and thought I would give it a try with my wife's 2016 Hyundai Santa Fe. We bought it used and it has some swirls and scratches plus a weird defect on the bumper that I would like to take care of. After reading some threads on the forum I decided to purchase some products during the Black Friday sale. I believe the only thing I have left to purchase are some pads and some microfiber towels. For pads I'm thinking of buying some Lake County CCS Smart Pads in orange, pink and white. Would those be okay for what I need to correct? Also, now i'm not too sure if the polish and finish that I purchased are too strong for what I want to do. I purchased the Menzerna Heavy Cut Compound 400 and the Menzerna Super Finish SF-3500. Would that be okay, or should I get something less agressive? This would be my first time using a polisher(Porter Cable 7424XP).

As soon as it stop raining, i'll take some pictures of the bumper and the defects I want to take care of. These are scratches and swirls I want to correct.

Thanks for any advice and help.

https://goo.gl/photos/ywnXgSjzHEqViDup8

Full list of products I purchased
    Lake County 3.5" & 5" Flexible backing plate
    Menzerna Heavy Cut Compound 400
    Menzerna Super Finish SF-3500
    Black Fire Wet-Ice Over Fire Kit
    Poorboy’s Natural Look Shine 32oz + Spray nozzle & Microfiber applicator