autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

How much more aggressive can I get?

I'm new to the world of Autogeek detailing and DA polishers. I'm beginning to detail my black 2013 Mustang GT. I did a couple test spots on the hood this weekend using Meguiars Ultimate Compound and Ultimate Polish with LC orange and white pads. After polishing, I still see some fine swirls, and the finish looks a little hazy too. Is there a more aggressive compound I can use, or should I work on my technique with the polisher?

Mike Phillips

Re: How much more aggressive can I get?

Good questions...

Since you're new to machine polishing I would highly recommend you read this article...

DA Polisher Trouble Shooting Guide

Make sure have placed a black mark on your backing plate....

Video: Mark your backing plate to make it easy to see pad rotation

And read this too before we see a new thread from you about buffing through the clearcoat...

Clearcoats are thin by Mike Phillips

Post Thanks / Like

I think you are looking at two separate issues.

1. Something with more bite to get rid of the deeper swirls. Honestly, an orange pad with UC is pretty agressive, but there are a few compounds out there that are even more so. I have no experience with Ford's, so I'll defer to other members on product recomendations.