autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Protecting/Preventing corrosion in my spotless engine and engine bay in my New vehicle

[QUOTE=Setec Astronomy;1432350]Holy cow, are you a pessimist!

That is why I asked how long he was keeping the truck. Are they chrome plated?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Protecting/Preventing corrosion in my spotless engine and engine bay in my New vehicle

Quote Originally Posted by GOTURBACK View Post
    . I am new to this, so any advice is appreciated just trying to learn and do my best to maintain my $40,000 investment.
    A 'regular car' is not an investment; generally do not appreciate in value.

In the engine bay I have been using the same Sonus Motor coat that others have mentioned. It works well.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Ebg18t View Post
    A 'regular car' is not an investment; generally do not appreciate in value.
    pessimist!
    Figured I'd call you that before setec does...

I haven't used Motor Coat, but have used and use Bare Bones. Bare Bones is a bit oily and I don't know if that is something one should be spraying in the engine bay, especially on the components in question (alternator, compressor, etc..).

Most of these said components are cast die, and to be quite honest, I don't know if they need "protection". Manufacturers run these parts and engines for hunderds of thousands of miles, i.e. Lincoln TC's as livery cars, Police Crown Vics...