autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Help Diagnose My Problem

Quote Originally Posted by andy0902 View Post
    I just want to thank everyone on this thread. I am a total amateur with little experience. Last weekend I spent 7 hours doing the roof and trunk of my Black Sapphire BMW. Wash, decontaminate, clay, two step correction with the Flex and a GG 3" (for the tight spots.) Then waxed with Pinnacle Souvran paste wax. I thought "It will take me forever to do the whole car." Then I realized I really enjoyed the work, my wife let me count it as exercise and I was thrilled with the result. Tomorrow I'll do the hood and front bumper. My inexperience means it will take a lot more time than a professional, maybe 20-30 hours to finish the whole thing, but who cares!

Thanks again autogeeks!
    After all that work, when you stand back and admire the car, all that time just disappears.

Due to this, I look at my car everyday after I park it at work and sometimes I smile, cuz it looks so damn good!

Post Thanks / Like

You'll get faster as time (and cars) goes by.
    Practice makes things speed up.

In my particular case, after working by myself for several years, I finally got myself a partner, with a huge plus, he is nineteen years younger. I got the experience, he has the youth.
    After washing, I test spot and decide the set up, always explaining to him the reasons of doing so.
    Usually he does the cutting stage with a rotary, and I come up after with a 3401 and/or Rupes 21.