autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Unhappy with my paint corrections

Hi, long time lurker, first time poster.

Just a little back ground. I'm a licensed automotive technician and big time car enthusiast.

After paying a small fortune to have my 2015 STI Opti coated, I was compelled to learn how to do this myself.

I threw out all my big box products, went to a local online detail company and spent a small fortune on good stuff. Among many other things I bought a 6" Griots Garage DA polisher and a few foam pads, meguiars M205, meguiars M101 and some Cquartz UK and Cquartz Dlux.

After doing my wifes car and fathers car, I started to have people asking for me to do some paid jobs.

I just finished one a little while ago and it's been bugging me so I thought I'd come here for some advice.

When I got the car I assessed the damage and it seemed to be just some minor swirling, he has proper washing techniques. I figured the M101 was too harsh for the level of paint correction. I washed the car, iron x, rinse, clay, washed and went over the car with a 1 stage polish with the M205 and the orange Lake country pad. The inspection lights showed the finish to be pretty good. I proceeded with the IPA wipe down and the cquartz UK and Dlux application. Looks great and my buddy can't see it, but in the sun there are a number of small scratches (swirls if you will) but you have to get the light to hit it just right to see them. The only saving grace is that the paint is metallic so it hides it very well. A plain color would have screwed me but I would imagine it would be easier to spot under the lights.