autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

HD Speed - wrong pad choice or bad technique?

I'm a newbie to machine polishing. Well sorta. It's been many years since I've used my Meguiars G100 machine and I only used it one other time.

After watching many polishing videos I decided to lightly polish the wife's 15 Dodge GC using HD Speed. I used a LC CCS 5.5" orange pad. Added 5 dime sized dots. Kissed the paint. Spread the product on 2 setting and bumped up to 6 with slow passes.

Here is the issue I ran into...

Despite my attempts at trying NOT to over saturate the pad it ended happening anyway and it appears to have started gumming up. I had to clean the pad with air and a towel before every section I did. Is that normal?

Here is the pad after working a section with 4 passes. Small pea sized dots (5). I had just cleaned the pad prior to...

What am I doing wrong?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails HD Speed - wrong pad choice or bad technique?-1468259752544-jpg  

Post Thanks / Like

Re: HD Speed - wrong pad choice or bad technique?

Where are you located (weather related question)?
    What were the temps while working?
    Were you under shade or direct sunlight?
    How many pads did you use?

Typically I use 6 pads for paint correction
    4 for polish
    1 or 2 for applying LSP.

HD Speed and or any compound/polish will start acting flaky when temps start approaching 88 and beyond.

Post Thanks / Like