autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Does anyone here (besides me) not use grit guards?

I've been ONRing my car for at least seven years. Occasionally I will spray it down at a do-it-yourselfer when the car is absolutely filthy in the winter. Other than that, which is maybe once or twice a year, I ONR it only. My car is a nonmetallic black 350Z. Not only do I not use a grit guard, but I only use one bucket. Years ago, before I really got into detailing, my car was a swirled out mess. In 2009 I bought a Flex, some pads, 105, 205 and the rest is history. I got my car swirl free and it requires a fine polish once a year (SF4500) to make it perfect again. The car is a DD, so in my opinion, it's only going to be perfect for so long. In any case, it has never come close to what the car looked like in 2009. For the most part it stays fairly swirl free.

I guess my point is, is I really wonder how much a grit guard actually helps. With all the large orders of stuff I've made on here over the years, for some reason it never even crosses my mind to purchase grit guards. I started using a rinse bucket at one point, but then stopped shortly thereafter. I just didn't feel like it was worth it or that it would really make a noticeable difference over time. (I could be wrong).

Does anyone else not use grit guards? One bucket only?

I'd love a Spotless system someday, so I can go back to a traditional wash, but that's not going to happen for some time.
    Thank you Autogeekers!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Does anyone here (besides me) not use grit guards?