autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

Treat Painted Plastic Same as Metal?

Hi,
    Relatively new detailer here, working on probably my 5th or 6th car. I am currently working on a 2005 Toyota 4Runner where the lower portion of the exterior has quite a bit of painted plastic panels. How do I treat these compared to what I have been doing to painted metal? My current process:
    Clay
    Menzerna PG 1000
    Menzerna SF 4000
    Wolfgang Deep Gloss Paint Sealant 3.0
    Again, a newbie here, trying to learn, and open to suggestions.
    Thanks,
    Jay

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Treat Painted Plastic Same as Metal?

Hi Jay and welcome to AG online.

You should always take extra care when polishing painted plastic. Firstly, it does not dissipate heat like a metal panel would, and so the risk of getting things too hot is increased. Secondly, (to my understanding) the actual paint itself would be different, allowing it to flex.

What machine are you using to do the paint correction?

If I may, I'd like to suggest that once you finish your existing PG1000, replace it with FG400 - you will get a better cut and finish.

Lastly, if you are not doing it already, a test spot must always be done - on each 'type' of paint e.g. OEM paint on metal, OEM paint on plastic, repainted paint on either, OEM paint on CF etc etc.