autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

New Car - Dealership Messed Up Paint

Hi everyone, newbie here(but i actually lurk a lot and a few forums for detailing tips and videos).

Need help and advise on my the paint damage the dealership did to my 2 Month old Honda Fit with "Vivid Sky Blue Pearl" color.

Everything else was mint except for whats seems to be an over spray or a rough area on the paint at the rear driver side door. It's just maybe 2 inches in length and half an inch wide.(i wish i just did not have them touch it).

as you can see the reflection seems to be inconsistent due to the rough paint area.

So i went back to them and have them try to fix it by buffing or polishing it out which i thought was an easy fix. As i trusted them knowing what they were doing i just sat in the waiting lounge and got my car back, the overspray seemed to be less noticeable...(i did not know what they did)but there's a lot of dried compound residue even on the drivers side area. I could not buff it out with a detailer spray of microfiber cloth.

I had them clean and take out the residue again, they used 3m perfect-it rubbing compound by hand and tried to polish using polishing compound of 3m with a black foam. I was hesistant at that time and had them stop the buffing after 1 pass. They put a good coat of APC Fine Liquid Polish on it. At this point I was like in denial and wouldnt take a good look at the paint. But after a few days i had the courage to look at it and this is the outcome.