autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

question about sealant and wax

Hi Mike,

I'm very new to detailing and tried my first shot at detailing my 2011 VW Gti. I washed, clayed and polished the car. For polishing I used a porter cable 7424 XP with orange pads in Optimum hyper compound and white pad on optimum hyper polish. Detailing alone took me 2 days in the garage, and while I watched some videos and read guides, Im sure I was ineffective in my process. After the two polishing steps mentioned above, I couldn't leave my Car in the garage anymore and had to drive it. My plan was to do a sealant and eax afterwards, but I ran out of time. I'm not too pleased with the results, and although it seems I removed every swirl mark on the Car, I ended up seeing straight line scratches after polishing. Foolishly, I didn't use the test spot method and just continued to do the entire car. My question is, how do I proceed mike? I don't mind the scratches so much , it doesnt bother Me all that much as my main goal was to protect the paint from the upcoming harsh Canadian winter.

1. If the paint surface is smooth to the touch, can I follow up with a sealant and wax 2 weeks after the original polish work? Or do I have to redo the work to remove the scratches before I apply a sealant and wax? If not, is it enough to just wash the car again, then simply proceed with a sealant and wax without claying and repolishing?