autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Creating a Layered Look - What does that mean?

Hi Mike,

A complete newbie here, I've spent many hours reading your articles, looking at the videos and have learned so much. I have purchased my tools and supplies from AG and am ready to start a paint correction on my car and get it ready for a concours.

I have read many times about achieving a layered look but am a bit fuzzy on what that means. Do you have any photos that would show the difference between single and multi LSP's?

I'm planning on using WGDGS (not sure if I should apply 1 or 2 coats?) and after curing topping with Souveran paste wax.

Also I understand that cure time for the sealant is 12hrs but have read that waiting a few days before adding a topper is even better. True?

Many thanks,

Allan

Mike Phillips

Re: Creating a Layered Look - What does that mean?

Quote Originally Posted by 1855Cru View Post

I have read many times about achieving a layered look but am a bit fuzzy on what that means. Do you have any photos that would show the difference between single and multi LSP's?

Great questions!

"No" I don't have any pictures that show a layered look. I don't have anything in writing anywhere promoting applying multiple products for a layered look.

I have an article that tries to make some common sense about the process of using multiple LSP's for people that "do" want to layer multiple LSP's here,

Topping - Definition - How to Top also called Topping