autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Scratch and Dent repair help

Hello all, I am new to the Autogeek forum (though I have read quite a lot on here) and relatively new to detailing. I had always liked shiny cars since I was small over the past year or so, I've started to seriously pursue detailing as a passion.

Today, I have a few questions on a paint and dent repair project. A family member had an unfortunate encounter with a concrete support in a home depot parking garage about 9 months to a year ago. Its the start of summer (more or less) and before I detail the car, I want to do my best to fix the dent and scratches.

An estimate for the repair came in at about $1600, which puts getting it repaired professionally out of the question. If I am going to spend money, it will be on the tools and products I need to do the job. I am relatively new to detailing, but I am a fairly quick learner, comfortable with power tools, and if things are explained or directions are given in a very complete and comprehensive manner, I have no problems following them. Any videos are great as well.

I have formed a general plan of attack to this problem and would just like a sanity check on whether this is right or not.

1. I think the first thing to do is to sand out the rusted areas and make them smooth and rust free.