autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Griots random orbital

Hey mike what's up. so I have a question since I am new to machine's. what happens if you go over the "sharp" edges on the car.

I was told if you go over them with a machine, that is the spot that will most likely get damaged first because its not a flat surface. I am really not sure how to go about detailing the car now since I was told that.

I will try to post a picture of a 2003 cobra hood to show you what im talking about. This is NOT my car guy's, so.

see how the hood has a lot of raises, edges etc? even where the hood meets the fender.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Griots random orbital-100_0378-jpg  
    2003 SVT COBRA
    Built and prepped by Mustang Magic (home of snakebite)
    Tuned by Joey at Mustang Magic

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Griots random orbital

Edges will tend to receive more direct force from your hand or DA and with a smaller surface area you can get too aggressive without even realizing it; potentially more paint loss is possible compared to a non-edge surface.

Your safest approach would be to do those areas by hand and be mindful of how much pressure you are applying to the edges. Once you feel comfortable you may be able to go with a DA and get close enough to the edges while maintaining a level pad on the entire surface. It really depends on the body style, how sharp of an edge we are talking about, and lastly how much correction the edge really needs.

Post Thanks / Like

Edges/metal bends can also tend to have thinner paint to start with.