autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Buff Pad Size/How many of each?

Hi All,

Novice here with two questions:

I have a PC 7424XP which I used only once so far. I bought the 6in backing plate with LC CCS smart 6.5in pads-(2)orange, (1)course green, (1)soft green, (1)gray/blk, (1)red, and (1)gold. I read that the PC 7424 works best with the 5in backing plate with 5.5in pads. What do you all say?

How many pads of each color does the average person need? Is my beginning set up of pads sufficient?

Please advise- Thanks in advance

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Buff Pad Size/How many of each?

The PC7424XP definitely works better with the 5.5 inch pads. I don't like to clean my pads during the detail, so 6 pads in each size (yellow, orange, white) works well for my GT-R. I use less pads (1-2) for glaze/sealant/wax application because the pads don't get gummed up with paint particles. You can get away with less pads if you clean on the fly or use the pad cleaner device.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by drbobbybones View Post
    The PC7424XP definitely works better with the 5.5 inch pads. I don't like to clean my pads during the detail, so 6 pads in each size (yellow, orange, white) works well for my GT-R. I use less pads (1-2) for glaze/sealant/wax application because the pads don't get gummed up with paint particles. You can get away with less pads if you clean on the fly or use the pad cleaner device.
    exactly what he said ^ , i also read it works a lot better with 5.5 inch pads. and drbobbybones you own a GT-R?!?!?! nice! thats like my dream car!

Post Thanks / Like