autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

New Car, need polish suggestions before Opti Coat

I'm waiting arrival of my new BMW X3 in Vermillion Red.
    I want to prep the paint before applying a Opti-Coat 2.0 permanent sealer.

I'm assuming the paint will most likely have towel marks and very light hazing areas as what most new cars have after leaving the dealer.

I have a Porter cable DA polisher. Only used it once on white car. So I am an absolute novice.

I need recommendations for pads and polish for my situation.
    The polish should have no type of protection, wax, or fillers. I'll do a quick IPA wipe then the Opti-coat sealant.

Thanks in advance

Post Thanks / Like

Re: New Car, need polish suggestions before Opti Coat

Well...I like your optimism that the dealer handling will only leave "towel marks and very light hazing" as opposed to severe swirls and RIDS. I would ask them to not touch the car.

Two, if you are a novice, it might be better for you to seek out a professional forum member to prep your car and apply the OC. Also, a "quick IPA wipe" is probably not the optimal prep for a permanent coating. I would use some sort of APC clean (Optimum Power Clean is recommended by Optimum) followed by the IPA wipe if desired.

Post Thanks / Like

Assuming you wash, clay and decontaminate first.... green pad w/ Menzerna SF4500, followed-up with a Grey pad (same product). This assumes you have visible swirls. If not, then skip the green pad.

Post Thanks / Like