autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

HELP! Wet-sanding, Compounding or Repainting

I have a scratch on the driver side fender of my '10 Subaru Forester which was caused by NYC Plow Trucks this past winter. I'm new to Auto Detailing and would like to correct the damage myself instead of bringing it over to a pro body shop. With that said, I would appreciate all the help I can get here in Autogeek!

Thanks in advance!

Here are pictures of the damage.

Picture 1 of Damage
    Picture 2 of Damage

Mike Phillips

Re: HELP! Wet-sanding, Compounding or Repainting

Here's your pictures... to make it easy for everyone, I downloaded them from your Flickr site and then uploaded them into your account here and now I've inserted them for everyone's viewing pleasure...

Working with pictures on forums is actually pretty easy once you do it a few times...

Mike Phillips

Quote Originally Posted by rjgervacio View Post

I have a scratch on the driver side fender of my '10 Subaru Forester which was caused by NYC Plow Trucks this past winter.
    First, looks like more than a scratch

Do you have any type of claim with some entity from the city where they have admitted liability?

Mike Phillips

By simply buffing the area with a compound you can remove some of the shallow portions of the scratches and much of the "whiteness" of the scratches although the deeper portions will remain.

The damage would be best fixed by letting a body shop handle this... especially if the affected panel is also dented...

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Mike.Phillips@Autogeek View Post
    First, looks like more than a scratch