autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

New Car Care - Black Car - Light scartches after body repair

I'd like to give thanks in advance to any advice you may have to share.

I purchased a 2011 Acura TL Tech - Black on Black. I'm no professional detailer, but I do enjoy it as a hobby on my own car and read the forums regularly.

I had mentioned my concerns about the dealership detail to the salesperson. I didn't think the message would get passed along, however when I picked up the car they actually did a fine job, there were no swirls or scratches. It was actually perfect.

About four days later we had heavy snow in the northeast. My wife offered to clean the cars off while I shoveled, I passed and said I'd take care of the new car myself. Approximately one hour later a town plow ripped through the driver side of the car from back to front.

Less than a week, and less than 300 miles on the car!

$6k worth of work later the front fender, and both doors were replaced while the rear fender (which got it the least) was repaired.

The final courtesy detail from the bodyshop was less than impressive. While not a horror story like those I've read on the forum, there were very clear light scratches (vertical, NOT swirls) as if there were a few bits of dirt on their polishing pad, very hard to see unless in direct sunlight, and even than it's noticeable, but not terrible.

So, to make a long-winded post into a short question:

How should I correct this on a new car, which now has had half the car repainted? I've always read start least aggressive.