autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Clay bars

Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Red face Clay bars

I'm sure this has been covered here before. Unfortunately I'm an old guy newB who's pretty search function challenged. First - How do you determine when your clay bar is too contaminated to use? Second - Is there a cleaning method to render them reusable when they get too contaminated? The Two Guys Garage segments are well done and very helpful. Ric

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Clay bars

Welcome to AutoGeek!!

If you drop the clay on the ground then you should toss it.
    If you pick up something off the paint with the clay that is actually as large as a fragment I would pick it off the clay before refolding.
    As you use the clay and continuously refold it you will come to the point where it doesn't look great any more.
    At that point you can retire it from the paint use and use it for areas like glass, etc.
    Once they get even dirtier then its off to the trashcan.
    You can not clean the clay.
    :dancebanana:

Sky's the Limit Car Care

Post Thanks / Like

I would only add to consider cutting clay bar into two pieces (bigger bars) or buy the multi packs. If you drop it or feel its too dirty, toss it and grab a new one.

Scott

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by killrwheels@autogeek View Post
    I would only add to consider cutting clay bar into two pieces (bigger bars) or buy the multi packs. If you drop it or feel its too dirty, toss it and grab a new one.
    I have been very stingy with my clay portions in the past. I probably break them up a little too much.

Sky's the Limit Car Care

Post Thanks / Like